Sewing Hive

October 26 – December 17 // Tuesdays, Thursdays, Sundays

An 'Open Sew' where people can work on personal projects in a collaborative setting that offers creative feedback and technical support. Every session also includes a targeted hands-on workshop to provide technical information about a specific topic. 

Sewing Hive flyer_web.png

Sewing Hive Schedule
 

Make a Thing!

Thursday, October 26, 7:00-9:00 pm

Materials and notions provided. Beginner-friendly!


Pillowcase Project – Part One

Sunday, October 29, 1:00 – 5:00 pm

Bring fabric stash you want to donate. Sew pillowcases to donate to shelters. Learn how to sew straight seams (if you are a beginner). Offer sewing tips (if you have more sewing experience). A community building activity!


Halloween Treat Totes

Tuesday, October 31, 7:00 – 9:00 pm

Come sew some totes for the trick-or-treaters in your life! Costumes encouraged!


Hand-Sewing

Thursday, November 2, 7:00 – 9:00 pm

Stitches, notions, tools and techniques


Open Sew

Sunday, November 5, 1:00 – 5:00 pm

Come work on your own project in good company


Mending

Tuesday, November 7, 7:00 – 9:00 pm

Blow-outs, Rips, Seams and Holes (including Darning)


Anatomy of a Pocket

Thursday, November 9, 7:00 – 9:00 pm

Repair, Mods & New Construction


Sewing Machine Clinic with Riehl Sew & Vac

Sunday, November 12, 1:00 – 5:00 pm

Bring your machine in for trouble-shooting/diagnostics


Anatomy of a Zipper

Tuesday, November 14, 7:00 – 9:00 pm

Repair & New Construction


Seams & Hems

Thursday, November 16, 7:00 – 9:00 pm

How to make them neat and pretty


Sport Gear Repair

Sunday, November 19, 1:00 – 5:00 pm

Bring your favorite outdoor gear back to life

Rips/tears, velcro, elastic, & zippers


Reading Patterns: Make it Fit

Tuesday, November 21, 7:00 – 9:00 pm

McCalls/Vogue/Simplicity, etc.


Happy Thanksgiving!

Thursday, November 23, 7:00 – 9:00 pm

Enjoy your holiday with family/friends - see you next week!


Hackerwear & Mods

Sunday, November 26, 1:00 – 5:00 pm

Bring in a thing to transform. T-shirts welcome.


Pull a Pattern: Make it Again

Tuesday, November 28, 7:00 – 9:00 pm

Bring a thing you love, and pull a pattern from it


Pinning, Basting & Ironing: Tricks of the Trade

Thursday, November 30, 7:00 – 9:00 pm


Make a Thing!

Sunday, December 3, 1:00 – 5:00 pm


Sewing Machine Clinic

Tuesday, December 5, 7:00 – 9:00 pm

threading, bobbins, tension, needles, stitch types & sewing feet


Anatomy of a Waistband:

Thursday, December 7, 7:00 – 9:00 pm

Buttons, Belt Loops, Snaps & Elastic


Pillowcase Project (part 2)

Sunday, December 10, 1:00 – 5:00 pm

Bring fabric stash you want to donate. Sew pillowcases to donate to shelters. Learn how to sew straight seams (if you are a beginner). Offer sewing tips (if you have more sewing experience). We’ll be delivering our pillowcases this week.


Alterations: Make it Fit

Tuesday, December 12, 7:00 – 9:00 pm

Bring in one almost-there garment


Upholstery Basics

Thursday, December 14, 7:00 – 9:00 pm


Make a Thing!

Sunday, December 17, 1:00 – 5:00 pm

Socks & Stockings